Ambassador Visits Ancient Fortress and Holy Springs on Trip to Nurata and Lake Aiderkul

U.S. Ambassador Richard Norland (right)Taking advantage of the opportunity to travel across the great steppes of Central Asia, U.S. Ambassador Richard Norland and his wife, Mary Hartnett, recently drove to the ancient holy town of Nurata.

The road from Jizzakh to Nurata traversed the spectacular open plains for hundreds of kilometers, with a dramatic escarpment of mountains lining one side and endless steppe on the other.  In the small town of Jangikishlak, an enterprising restaurant owner had placed an old car

A bright orange car attracts visitors to a restaurant in the village of Jangikishlak
A bright orange car attracts visitors to a restaurant in the village of Jangikishlak.

painted orange on top of a high pole outside his restaurant, attracting visitors from all around.

Nurata is a town of about 25,000 people situated in Navoi Region near where the western edge of the Gissaro Alai mountains tapers away into the expanse of the Kyzyl Kum desert. The town features two ancient mosques at the foot of a citadel built by Alexander the Great during his siege of Samarkand in the 4th Century B.C.

Part of the holy complex involves a remarkable phenomenon: An underground spring feeds a small well and larger pond in which thousands of fish (marinka) swim.  The water is considered holy, and so are the fish, so they are untouched – indeed, they can be found swimming throughout the town’s above-ground water distribution system linked to this holy spring.

“The site is one that no American visitor will ever forget,” Norland said.

About 50 kilometers from Nurata is the enormous Aiderkul Lake, whose

Thousands of fish swim in the spring-fed well and pond of the Chashma (Tajik for “spring”) holy complex in Nurata. The water and fish are considered sacred.

Thousands of fish swim in the spring-fed well and pond of the Chashma (Tajik for “spring”) holy complex in Nurata. The water and fish are considered sacred.

clean water and empty, sandy beaches remind an American of the South Carolina coastline. The lake was formed in the 1960s from overflow from the Syr Darya River and has become an important ecological site for migratory birds and wildlife.

Ambassador Norland stayed overnight in a yurt camp near the shore of Aiderkul and had the chance to explore the area on foot.

“The chance to spend the night in the yurt camp located near the village of Dongelek offered wonderful insights into the traditions of the nomadic people of that region,” Norland said.

Since his arrival in Uzbekistan in 2008, Ambassador Norland has visited all 14 administrative regions of Uzbekistan. His travels in Uzbekistan have ranged from archeological sites near Termez to the Uzbek mountain enclave of Shakhimardan and across the desert regions of Karakalpakstan.

.

Посол США посетил древнюю крепость и святые источники Нураты, а также озеро Айдаркуль

Посол США Ричард Норланд (справа)Воспользовавшись возможностью совершить путешествие по великим степям Центральной Азии, посол США Ричард Норланд с супругой Мэри Хартнетт недавно посетили древнейший святой город Нурата.

Дорога из Джизака в Нурату пересекает впечатляющие открытые равнины, протянувшиеся на сотни километров, с крутыми откосами гор, с одной стороны, и бесконечной степью – с другой.  В городке Янгикишлак, предприимчивый владелец ресторана установил старый автомобиль, окрашенный в оранжевый цвет, на верхушку высокого столба у входа в свой ресторан, привлекая посетителей со всей округи.

Ярко-оранжевое авто привлекает посетителей в ресторан в посёлке Янгикишлак
Ярко-оранжевое авто привлекает посетителей в ресторан в посёлке Янгикишлак

Город Нурата, с населением порядка 25000 человек, расположен в Навоийской области, там, где западный гребень гор Гиссаро-Алая переходит в просторы пустыни Кызылкум. Достопримечательностями города являются две древние мечети у подножия цитадели, построенной Александром Македонским во время осады Самарканда в четвертом веке до нашей эры.

Священный комплекс включает в себя поразительное явление: подземный источник питает небольшой колодец и большой пруд, в котором плавают тысячи рыб (маринок). Как и сам родник, рыба здесь считается священной, поэтому её никто не ловит – и в самом деле, рыба плавает по всей городской надземной системе водоснабжения,

Тысячи рыб плавают в колодце, вода в который поступает из источника, и пруду нуратинского комплекса Чашма (с таджикского

Тысячи рыб плавают в колодце, вода
в который поступает из источника, и пруду нуратинского комплекса Чашма
(с таджикского "чашма – "родник").
Как и сам родник, рыба здесь считается священной.

соединенной со святым источником.

"Ни один американец никогда не забудет это зрелище", – полагает Норланд.

Почти в 50 километрах от Нураты расположено крупное озеро Айдаркуль, чистая вода и пустые, песчаные пляжи которого напоминают береговую линию Южной Каролины. Озеро образовалось в 1960-х годах вследствие разлива реки Сырдарья и стало важной экологической площадкой для мигрирующих птиц и диких животных.

Посол Норланд переночевал в юртовом лагере неподалеку от берега озера Айдаркуль и воспользовался шансом изучить местность во время пешей прогулки.

"Ночевка в юртовом лагере, размещенном недалеко от поселка Донгелек, позволяет приобщиться к традициям кочевого народа этого региона", – говорит посол Норланд.

Со времени прибытия в Узбекистан в 2008 году, посол Норланд посетил все 14 административных регионов Узбекистана. Во время своих поездок по Узбекистану посол Норланд посетил различные места, от археологических раскопок под Термезом, до узбекского анклава Шахимардан и пустынных районов Каракалпакстана.

.