Marghilan

Margilan is one of the ancient cities of Uzbekistan, which is located in the south - eastern part of the Ferghana valley, in a 15 kilometers distance to the north of Ferghana, and 85 kilometers from Kokand. The city lies at the foothills of the Alai Range at an altitude of 475 meters above a sea level. The area of Margilan is 50 square kilometers and the population is 200 thousand people.

What is the history of this amazing place?
For a very long time, scientists could not determine the age of Margilan even approximately. Everybody was misled by the Chinese and Arab chronicles, where the first mention of Margilan refers to the 7 th century. However, a later archaeological expedition undertaken by the Uzbek and foreign scientists found here the ruins of earlier settlements. And now it can be said  with confidence that the city allegedly arose in 2-1 centuries BC.
There is not a reliable data on how, when and by whom the town was founded there, but one  a beautiful legend about the origin of its name is extremely popular.
Very long time ago (in 4-th century BC), the great commander Alexander Macedon undertook a campaign into Central Asia. Local Marghilan silk factoryresidents, having known that Alexander is going to visit their city, decided to meet guests refreshments. Knowing that the Romans were partial to poultry, a baked chicken with bread was presented to the commander. A very pleased with the dinner Emperor asked what the name of the dish was, and he was replied: "Murgi non" - chicken with bread. It is still unaware what namely the king heard, but with its "light hand", since that time a settlement was called Margilan.
This glorious city has experienced a great deal during its history: the attacks of foreign invaders, the treacherous invasions of the Arabs, Tartar-Mongols and Genghis Khan, the Iranian invaders. There were here internecine wars during the reign of the Timurid dynasty, Sheybonids and other rulers. Then it was also a bloody accession to the imperial Russia, and no less brutal attempt to build socialism after 1919 year.
But as a result, the dashing times only strengthened Margilan inhabitants’ spirit. This city for centuries has been a home for great scientists, cultural workers and artists, as well as brilliant craftsmen. Margilan is widely known for the wonderful hand-embroidered (Suzanne and skullcaps), delicate carving and Ganj, but the special pride of the townspeople always was considered to be a production of silk fabrics.
Since immemorial time, the city became known as the “silk capital of the East ". The whole world is introduced to its iridescent khan-atlas, adras and bekasams. Along the Great Silk Road medieval merchants were bringing caravans loaded with famous Margilan silks into Baghdad, Khorasan, Kashgar, Greece and Egypt. Since ancient times, the city's population specialized at dressing of silk fabrics, and owing to it, earned a worldwide fame.
And today, ancient traditions are not forgotten, modern Margilan is used to be one of the largest centers of silk processing industry in Central Asia. There are several factories producing silk inside the city. The most famous of them are considered to be «Khan Atlas» and "Yodgorlik”. By the way, a great quantity of craftsmen works at home.
The «Khan Atlas» production association is the largest company on silk production on all post-Soviet space. Daily, as a rule, it produces up to 2.5 kilometers of the world famous fabric.
Souvenir Factory “Yodgorlik" is the only enterprise in Central Asia, where a manual mode of production of silk is totally retained. And although the production volume it makes is much more modest than the unification of «Khan Atlas», the factory production, wining at various exhibitions, also received a wide acclaim.
Unfortunately there are many monuments of antiquity preserved in the city until our days, but the survived ones, are certainly worthy of a close attention. This is complex of Pir Siddiq, the Mausoleum of Khoja Magiz, Chakar Mosque, Madrasah of Said Ahmad Khoja, Mosque of Toron - bazaar.

Historic landmarks and attractions of Margilan town.


Complex of Pir Siddiq (XVIII century)

The memorial where according to legend saint Pir Siddiq was buried, received a popular nickname of "Kaptarlik» which means "Pigeon", was built in the middle of XVIII century. Eventually, it turned into an ensemble that includes a mosque, courtyard with a tomb, a minaret, darvozahona and a dovecote. With the name of Pir Siddiq associated a legend, which says that once the holy man, hiding from …

Madrassah of Said Ahmad Khoja (XIX century)

Madrassah of Said Ahmad Khoja, built in Margilan in the late XIX century is a square yard of 32,5 x 32,5 meters, in depth of which a mosque with asymmetric aivan is constructed. Along the perimeter, the yard is surrounded by khujdras that are overlained by arched vaults. A dense shade of ancient plane trees and flowing through the yard a large ditch, give a cool to this place, even during the most …

Souvenir Factory of “Yodgorlik”

Margilan silk factory was founded in 1972 year and at that time became the largest place of production in the Ferghana Valley, up to1993 year it remained in state ownership, and in 2000 year, it became a private enterprise of "Yodgorlik”. 450 people are involved into the process of production, most of whom are women. The company has a fairly simple structure of production: plant for silk thread …

.

Маргилан

МаргиланМаргилан один из древнейших городов Узбекистана, он расположен в юго-восточной части Ферганской долины в 15-ти км к северу от Ферганы и 85-ти от Коканда. Город лежит в предгорьях Алайского хребта на высоте 475 м над уровнем моря. Площадь Маргилана составляет 50 кв. км., население – 200 тыс. человек. 

Какова же история этого удивительного места? 

Очень долго ученые даже приблизительно не могли установить возраст Маргилана. Всех ввели в заблуждение китайские и арабские летописи, где первые упоминания о Маргилане относятся к 7 веку, но предпринятая позже археологическая экспедиция узбекских и зарубежных ученых выявила здесь руины более ранних поселений. И теперь можно с уверенностью сказать, что город возник предположительно во 2-1 веках до н.э.

Достоверных данных о том, когда и кем был основан город нет, но в народе ходит красивая легенда о происхождении его названия. 

Горы маргиланаОчень давно (в 4 в. до н.э.) великий полководец Александ Македонский предпринял поход в Центральную Азию. Местные жители, узнав, что Александр собирается посетить их город, решили встретить гостей угощением. Зная, что римляне неравнодушны к мясу птицы, полководцу преподнесли запеченого цыпленка с лепешкой. Весьма довольный обедом император поинтересовался, как называется блюдо, и ему ответили: «мурги нон»- цыпленок с хлебом. Неизвестно, что там послышалось царю, но с его «легкой руки», поселение с тех пор называют Маргиланом.

Этот славный город пережил многое в своей истории: набеги иноземных захватчиков, вероломные вторжения арабов, татаро-монгол и Чингисхана, иранских завоевателей. Были здесь и междоусобные войны во время правления династий Тимуридов, Шейбанидов и других правителей. Затем кровавое присоединение к царской России, и не менее жестокая попытка построения социализма после 1919 года.

Но лихие времена только укрепили дух маргиланцев, город испокон веков являлся родиной великих ученых, деятелей культуры и искусства, а также гениальных мастеров-ремесленников. Маргилан широко известен замечательной ручной вышивкой (сюзане и тюбетейки), филигранной резьбой по дереву и ганчу, но особая гордость горожан – производство шелковых тканей.

Мавзолей МаргилониС незапамятных времен город стал называться «шелковой столицей Востока». На весь мир извесны его радужно – переливчатые хан-атласы, адрасы, бекасамы. По великому Шелковому Пути средневековые торговцы вели каравыны, груженые знаменитыми Маргиланскими шелками в Багдад, Хорасан, Кашгар, Грецию и Египет. Издревле население города специалтзировалось на выделке шелковых тканей, чем и снискало мировую славу.

И сегодня не забыты древние традиции, современный Маргилан является одним из крупнейших в Средней Азии центров шелкообрабатывающей промышленности. В городе находятся несколько фабрик по производству шелка. Самые извествые из них - «Хан атлас» и «Едгорлик», а также много ремесленников работают на дому.

Производственное обьединение «Хан атлас» - крупнейшее предприятие по приизводству шелка на всем постсоветском пространстве, ежедневно оно выпускает до 2,5 километров знаменитой на весь мир ткани.

Сувенирная фабрика «Едгорлик» - единственное предприятие в Средней Азии, где сохранен полностью ручной способ производства шелка. И хоть объемы производства у нее намного скромнее, чем у обьединения «Хан атлас». Продукция фабрики, побеждая на различных выставках, тоже получила широкую известность.

К сожалению не много памятников древности сохранилось в городе до наших дней, но уцелевшие, безусловно, достойны пристального внимания. Это и Комплекс Пир Сиддик, Мавзолей Ходжа Магиз, Мечеть Чакар, Медресе Саид Ахмад–ходжа, Мечеть Торон – базар.

Исторические памятники и достопримечательности Маргилана.


Комплекс Пир Сиддик (XVIII в)

Мемориал в котором по преданию похоронен святой Пир Сиддик, получивший в народе прозвище «Каптарлик» - «Голубиный» был построен в середине XVIII в . Со временем он превратился в ансамбль, включающий мечеть, дворик с усыпальницей, минарет, дарвозахону и голубятню. С именем Пир Сиддика связывают легенду, корорая гласит о том, что однажды святой скрываясь от преследования неверных, …

Медресе Саид Ахмад– ходжа (XIX в)

Медресе Сайд Ахмад-ходжа, сооруженная в Маргилане в конце XIX века представляет собой квадратный двор (32,5 х 32,5 м) в глубине которого возведена ассиметричная мечеть с айваном. По периметру двор окружен худжрами, перекрытыми арочными сводами. Густая тень вековых чинар и протекающий по двору большой арык дарят этому месту прохладу даже в самый сильный зной. Очень интересно архитектурное …

Сувенирная фабрика «Едгорлик»

Маргиланская шелковая фабрика была основана в 1972 году и на тот момент являлась самым большим производством в Ферганской долине, до 1993года она оставалась в собственности государства, а в 2000 году стала частным предприятием «Едгорлик». В производстве задействовано 450 человек, большинство из которых составляют женщины. Предприятие имеет достаточно простую структуру производства: …

.