Brichmulla

Brichmulla (or Burchmulla) is an ancient settlement on the territory of Ugam-Chatkal National Park. It is located 120 kilometers from Tashkent city, in the southeast of deep Charvak reservoir in the western extremity of Koksu ridge. Population of this place is about 5 thousand people, 90% of whom are used to be ethnic Tajiks. Inhabitants of the township speak Uzbek language fluently as well as Russian, many of them know foreign languages.
Thanks to climatic conditions a rich world of flora and fauna was formed here, which became a part part of the local people life, who exist in harmony with the environment since ancient times.

Nestled in the mountains of Western Tien-Shan at an altitude of 960 meters above a sea level, between the rivers of Chatkal and Cox, the village is considered to be an excellent choice of Tashkent people and guests for having a rest. In order to reach it from Tashkent, one will need literally 45-50 minutes to go by a good road through Charvak dam or Cretaceous pass.


Brichmulla has an extremely rich history, which is surprisingly for such a small settlement.
Not far from the town, in the area of Obirahmat remains of Neanderthal people were found, who already had parking in these places 60 thousand years ago.
The date of the settlement foundation, according to historians, probably is referred to the VI century BC. This was the heyday of the Turkic khanate, the time when sedentary tribes just began to appear and fortress-settlement started to form. Brichmulla is one of those fortresses. It was assigned a responsibility to protect the mountain paths in the metal-abundant areas.

In the Middle Ages, a city of Ardlankent, according to the unconfirmed reports, was established onto its present territory, the only city on the territory of the valley of Chatkal, which was mentioned in ancient chronicles. It was situated at the crossroads of the ancient mountain paths from Tashkent (Chach) into the Seven Rivers’ territory, Ferghana, as well as the valleys of Chatkal and Cox.

It becomes clear from archaeological data that the total area of settlement was about 16 hectares. From the east side, the city was covered by the city wall, a length of 550 and a width of 2,5 meters. On the opposite side, the steep banks and a mountain river running at the bottom, created a natural defense line. In the southwestern part of the town there was a barely noticeable path leading to the beach, which allowed the population to replenish their stocks of fresh water even in the days of the siege.
The population of Brichmulla was actively engaged in minering and processing of metals, specializing in the smelting of iron and copper, which confirmed the ancient workings, related to the extraction of ores. Arsenic, silver-lead ores, mineral paints were also very intensively mined.
In connection with the ups and downs of the history, the city once disappearing then revived again. At the end of XVIII century, after a regular failure and plenty of years of neglect Brichmulla was recovered again somewhat above the ruined fort. Much later the part of the population moved to the village of Yakkatut located on the right bank of Cox river.
Like any other self-respecting city having such a glorious history, Brichmulla was just overgrown with legends and tales.

One legend describes the originality of the town name, which is translates as "the duty of the ecclesiastic”, and that's what it is connected with:
Once upon a time very wicked men lived in these blessed places. They wallowed in their own vices: stealing, betraying, deceiving, loaning, loafing and put their own pleasure above all. God became angry when he saw this unjust attitude toward life, and started to send different sorts of misfortune onto the earth: destructive earthquakes, mudslides and terrible storms, swarms of bloodthirsty nomads, diseases and pestilence.
People simply dreamed of getting rid from pursuing them misfortunes. And once, one wandering priest (Mullah) came into the town. Thus, the inhabitants of the village turned to him for help.
The pastor prayed and then told to the crowd: "You have angered God because you do not follow the precepts of the Prophet. Do you think of the stomach, but not the soul. You are cheating the poor people and give nothing to those who are suffering. But I definitely will help you. You must change your lifestyle, and after that I shall ask Allah to forgive you. "
Residents tried to do their best to improve the situation, and a servant of God started to pray fervently for their salvation. And he prayed so fervently, so earnestly pleaded for forgiveness, that God heard his groans and retreated. Thus, he ceased to send disasters onto the land.
Residents rushed to thank the clergyman, however he just shrugged: "Do not thank me, that is simply my duty!" Since then this place is called - "Brich"-duty, "Mulla" - a priest.
They say that since that time, the villagers became quite different: kind, industrious and hospitable.
These days in the township crafts, the traditions of which are passed down from generations by word of mouth, and seasonal landscape tourism are developed.
The most popular time for recreation here is from May up to September. Citizens of the country and visitors come here to escape the heat, because the local climate is really softer. Due to the proximity of the foothills and Charvak reservoir the daytime temperatures a few degrees lower than in the city, and in addition, the natural beauty of this place takes your breath away. Therefore, tourists come here, because picturesque canyon of Kolasa and the peak of Hunting are situated just within a stone’s throw. There are also a number of waterfalls of a great beauty and mountain rivers in the district, and of course the main attraction is used to be the azure expanse of Charvak "sea".
And although the scientists long ago proved that the correct name of the village of Burchmulla is supposed to be the Uzbek word "Burch" - "corner", apparently having in mind any angular structure, such as a watchtower. However, in my heart still soft words of Nikitin cry: "voluptuous poison, golden Brichmulla ... "

.

Бричмулла (Бричмула)

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок БричмуллаБричмулла (Бричмула) - старинный поселок на территории Угам-Чаткальского национального парка, расположенный в 120 км от Ташкента, на юго-востоке Чарвакского водохранилища, в западной оконечности Коксуйского хребта. Численность населения  Бричмуллы (Бричмулы) – около 5 тыс. человек, 90% из которых этнические таджики. В поселке Бричмулла (Бричмула)  свободно говорят по - узбекски и по- русски, многие знают иностранные языки.

Благодаря природно-климатическим условиям здесь сформировался богатейший мир флоры и фауны, ставший составной частью жизни местного населения, издревле существующего в гармонии с окружающей средой.

Уютно расположившийся в горах западного Тянь-Шаня на высоте 960 м над уровнем моря, между реками Чаткал и Коксу, поселок Бричмулла (Бричмула)  является замечательным местом отдыха ташкентцев и гостей столицы. Добраться до него от Ташкента можно буквально за 45-50 минут по хорошей дороге через Чарвакскую плотину или перевал Меловой.

У Бричмуллы (Бричмулы) , как ни удивительно для столь небольшого поселения, очень богатая история.

Недалеко от городка, в местности Обирахмат были найдены останки неандертальцев, стоянка которых была в этих местах уже 60 тыс. лет назад.

Дата основания поселка, по данным историков, вероятнее всего, относится к VI веку нашей эры. Это было время расцвета тюркского каганата, когда только-только стали появляться оседлые племена и образовывать крепости-поселения, Бричмулла (Бричмула)  - одна из таких крепостей. На нее была возложена обязанность охраны горных путей в богатые металлами районы.

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок БричмуллаВ средние века на территории нынешней  Бричмуллы (Бричмулы) развернулся город, по неподтвержденным данным  - Ардланкент, единственный из городов на территории долины Чаткала, упоминавшийся в древних летописях. Он был перекрестком горных путей из древнего Ташкента (Чач) в Семиречье, Фергану, а также долины Чаткала и Коксу.

Из археологических данных следует, что общая площадь городища составляла около 16 га. С востока город прикрывала крепостная стена, длиной 550 и шириной до 2,5 метров, на противоположной стороне отвесные берега и протекающая внизу бурная горная река, создавали естественный оборонительный рубеж. В юго-западной части города существовала еле заметная тропинка, ведущая к берегу, которая позволяла населению даже в дни осады пополнять запасы пресной воды.

Население Бричмуллы (Бричмулы) активно занималось рудокопством и обработкой металлов, специализируясь на выплавке железа и меди, что подтверждают древние выработки, связанные с добычей руд. Так же весьма интенсивно добывались мышьяк, серебряно-свинцовые руды, минеральные краски.

В связи с перипетиями истории город то исчезал, то возрождался вновь. В конце XVIII века после очередного разрушения и многолетнего забвения Бричмуллу (Бричмулу) снова восстановили несколько выше разрушенного городища. Много позже часть населения перебралась в поселок Яккатут на правобережье Коксу. 

Как любой уважающий себя город, имеющий столь славную историю, Бричмулла (Бричмула) просто обросла легендами и сказаниями.

Одна из легенд рассказывает о происхождении ее названия, которое переводится как «долг священнослужителя», и вот с чем это связано.

Когда - то давным давно на этом благословенном месте жили нечестивые люди. Они погрязли в своих пороках: воровали, предавали, обманывали, мздоимствовали, бездельничали и превыше всего ставили свое удовольствие. Бог разгневался, увидев такое неправедное отношение к жизни, и стал насылать  на их землю всяческие несчастья: разрушительные землетрясения, страшные сели и ураганы, полчища кровожадных кочевников, болезни и мор.

Жители просто мечтали избавиться от преследующих их напастей. И вот однажды в поселок забрел странствующий священник (мулла) и горожане обратились  к нему с просьбой о помощи.

Священнослужитель помолился и объявил собравшимся: «Вы прогневали бога, потому что не следуете заветам пророка. Вы думаете о желудке, но не о душе. Вы обманываете бедных и ничего не даете страждущим. Но я вам помогу. Вы должны изменить свой образ жизни, а я попрошу Аллаха простить вас».

Жители как могли старались исправиться, а служитель Бога стал усердно молиться об их спасении. И так он горячо молился, так истово умолял о прощении, что Аллах услышал его стенания и отступился, прекратил насылать на землю катастрофы.

Жители бросились благодарить священнослужителя, но тот только отмахнулся: «Не благодарите, это мой долг!». С тех пор это место так и называется - «брич»-долг, «мулла»- священнослужитель.

Говорят жители поселка с тех самых пор стали совсем другими, добрыми, работящими и гостеприимными.

Сегодня в поселке  Бричмулла (Бричмула) развиваются народные промыслы, традиции которых поколениями передаются из уст в уста, и сезонный ландшафтный туризм.

Самое популярное время, для отдыха, с мая по сентябрь. Горожане и гости столицы приезжают сюда, спасаясь от зноя, ведь местный климат действительно мягче. Благодаря близости предгорий и Чарвакскому водохранилищу дневные температуры на несколько градусов ниже, чем в городе, а природные красоты таких, что дух захватывает. Вот и едут сюда туристы, ведь в двух шагах расположены живописнейший каньон Коласья и пик Охотничий, в округе множество замечательных по красоте водопадов и горных саев, и конечно же, главная достопримечательность лазурная гладь Чарвакского «моря».

И хоть ученые давно доказали, что правильное название поселка Бурчмулла (Бричмула), от узбекского «бурч»-«угол», видимо имея ввиду какое –нибудь угловое сооружение, например сторожевую башню, но в сердце до сих пор просится негромкое Никитинское:  «Сладострастная отрава, золотая Бричмулла…»

Бричмулла (Бричмула) в картинах Валерия Енина

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок Бричмулла

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок Бричмулла

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок Бричмулла

Бричмулла, Brichmulla, brichmulla, бричмула, поселок Бричмулла

.