Nanay

That is a small mountain village which is situated in Bostanlyk district of Tashkent region. It is located in south-eastern side of the Charvak reservoir lake and called Nanay. This village is situated at an altitude of 900 meters above a sea level, on the left bank of the Pskem River, in the eponymous valley. About 3800 people live on the territory of that village, almost the entire population is used to be ethnic Tajiks.
The climate of these places is characteristic for the foothills: hot summer (+40 C) and cold, snowy winters (up to -20C). However, the closeness of the reservoir significantly moistens the air and softens the heat of summer. Fall and spring are commonly very rainy.
The most curious thing is that there are two villages with this name in Uzbekistan. The second Nanay is located in Feghana Valley near Namangan city and the basis of its population, too, are Tajiks. There is a legend according to which one part of the inhabitants of the Ferghana Nanay quarreled with the villagers and was forced to leave their homes. Having wandered for a little in the mountains, they found a comfortable valley near the Pskem River and founded a settlement at that place. But they decided to leave the old name, nostalgia tortured.
However, according to Pskem Nanay inhabitants, everything was accurately, up-on the contrary. According to their version, Nanay existed in these places since Alexander of Macedon times, and was built as a fortified halts of the king army. Then it was used as a caravanserai, and after some time passed it completely expanded to the settlement. A "great migration" of Nanay people happened only 400 years ago. Thus, as a result, some of their relatives turned up to be in Saryagach and Gazalkent, and in Ferghana. At that time there were only 400 inhabitants in the Nanay itself.
Whom to believe to? Especially since the science keeps a silent on this issue, not confirming any of the versions. The same confusion is referred towards to the village’s title. According to one version Nanay was originally from the Tajik Nanay word "Nona" – which meant the goddess of fertility "clean and beautiful." According to the second version, it was from the word of "Nana" - some sort of special medicinal herbs, cured the first settlers. Well, the third version claims that it is considered to be a transformation of "Non hai" – there is bread " as it is a cry of relief, after the first harvest of wheat in the new location was collected.
Choose the statement which pleases you, moreover that one statement does not refute the other.
As in many other mountain villages, the inhabitants of Nanay live with one cohesive team. They have own authority called mahalla committee and a chosen chairman. Residents are mainly employed in agriculture, animal husbandry, petty trade, beekeeping, handicrafts and the provision of tourism services in private.
Beekeeping is supposed to be a visiting card of Nanay. The local honey is considered to be the best, cleanest and the most helpful throughout Uzbekistan. In addition, until recently it was a valuable gift for high-ranking government guests. These days people specially come from many parts of the country to buy a local honey.
Handicrafts are original and varied. But especially I would like to note the unique and distinctive embroidery of the national headgear - skullcaps.
Tourist services of the local population are limited to "couch-tourism - providing a place for rest and sleep. However, in case you wish you can arrange tours to many historical sites and interesting natural features.
Indeed, there is really something to see in Nanay.
There is a huge cave in the western part of the settlement that is in width 30, depth 15 and 20 meters high. There is a small lake in the middle of the cave. From the west side, the grotto is washed by the Charvak reservoir. Earlier before, there was the mazar with the grave of an unknown saint, named “Goib ata”. Perhaps, he was the one of the inhabitants, killed by Arab conquerors in the era of forced Islamization of Central Asia.
On the one of the two cemeteries of the village called Ibrahim Ata, there is still preserved mulberry (mulberry), allegedly planted by Hodge Ahrorom. He was the same person who planted, according to legend, the famous plane trees in Khodjikent, the age of which now is many centuries.
Near the village, on the left bank of the Kuruksay stream, there is the famous "mushroom rock" - a huge lump of a height of 5 meters and a width of 2 meters. The diameter of "mushroom" leg narrows to the top of it to 1.5 meters and the width of the "cap" itself reaches 3.5 - 4 meters wingspan.
There is still a great many interesting places located in the vicinity of the village. Moreover, local inhabitants have in store a huge number of legends and folk beliefs referred to the town and surrounding attractions. Indeed, there are so many stories, that it seems even the smallest pebble on the road has its own instructive story.
Wonderful, comfortable for living and recreation space, beautiful nature, mild climate of the foothills, the abundance of rivers, the proximity of deep lake, clear mountain air and healing honey - is not it an earthly paradise? If you want to satisfy your curiosity, just come yourself to see it with your own eyes!

 

.

Нанай

Нанай находится у реки Пскем, Нанай Узбекистан, Горные кишлаки Узбекистана, Чимган, нанай газалкент, нанай чарвак, Нанай НаманганНебольшой горный поселок Бостанлыкского района Ташкентской области, расположенный в юго-восточной стороне Чарвакского водохранилища - Нанай находится на высоте 900 м над уровнем моря, на левом берегу реки Пскем, в одноименной долине. На территории поселка проживает 3800 человек, почти все население – этнические таджики.

Климат этих мест характерен для предгорий: знойное лето (до +40С) и холодные, снежные зимы (до -20С). Однако близость водохранилища значительно увлажняет воздух и смягчает летний зной. Осенью и весной дождливо.

Самое любопытное, что в Узбекистане существует два селения с таким названием. Второй Нанай находится в Фегранской долине недалеко от Намангана и основу его населения тоже составляют таджики. Существует легенда, согласно которой, часть жителей Наманганского Наная поссорилась с односельчанами и была вынуждена уйти из родных мест, поскитавшись в горах, они нашли удобную долину у реки Пскем и основали здесь поселок, а название оставили прежнее, ностальгия замучила.

Однако, по свидетельству Пскемских нанайцев, все было с точностью, до-наоборот. По их версии Нанай существует в этих местах со времен Александра Македонского и построен был как один из укрепленных привалов воска царя. Затем стал использоваться как караван-сарай, а потом и вовсе разросся в поселок. А «великое переселение» нанайцев произошло всего 400 лет назад, в результате их родичи оказались и в Сарыагаче, и в Газалкенте, и в Фергане, а в самом Нанае на то время осталось всего 400 жителей.

Кому верить? Тем более наука пока молчит по этому поводу, не подтверждая, ни одну из версий. Такая же неразбериха и с названием. По одной из версий Нанай произошел от таджикского «Нона» - богиня плодородия «чистая и прекрасная». По второй версии, от «Нана» – какой-то особой лекарственной травки, излечившей первых поселенцев. Ну и третья версия утверждает, что это трассформация от «Нон хай»- «хлеб есть», возглас облегчения, после сбора первого урожая пшеницы на новом месте.

Выбирайте, что нравится, тем более, что одно утверждение другого не опровергает.
Как и во многих горных селениях, жители Наная живут одним сплоченным коллективом, имея орган собственного самоуправления – махаллинский комитет и выбранного председателя. Жители в основном заняты земледелием, скотоводством, мелкой торговлей, пчеловодством, народными промыслами и предоставлением туруслуг частным образом.

Пчеловодство – визитная карточка Наная. Здешний мед считается самым лучшим, чистым  и полезным во всем Узбекистане, до недавнего времени он был ценным подарком высокопоставленным правительственным гостям. Сегодня за местным медом специально приезжают из многих районов страны.

Народные промыслы самобытны и разнообразны, но особенно хочется отметить уникальную, самобытную вышивку национальных головных уборов – тюбетеек.
Туруслуги местного населения ограничиваются «топчан-туризмом» - предоставлением места для отдыха и ночлега, но при желании вам могут организовать экскурсии к многочисленным историческим местам и интересным природным объектам.
Ведь в Нанае действительно есть что посмотреть.

В западной части поселка находится громадный грот шириной в 30, глубиной 15 и высотой 20 метров. В середине пещеры небольшое озерцо. С запада грот омывает Чарвакское водохранилище. Многим ранее здесь был мазар с могилой неизвестного святого - «Гоиб ата». Возможно одного из жителей погибшего от рук арабских завоевателей в эпоху насильственной исламизации Средней Азии.

На одном из двух кладбищ селения – «Ибрахим ата», до сих пор сохранился тутовник (шелковица), якобы посаженный самим Ходжа Ахрором, который по преданиям посадил знаменитые чинары в Ходжикенте, которым сейчас уже много столетий.

Недалеко от поселка, на левом берегу ручья Куруксай находится знаменитый «каменный гриб»- огромная глыба высотой  5 м и шириной 2 м. Диаметр ножки «гриба» к верху сужается до 1,5 метров, а ширина самой «шляпки» достигает 3,5 – 4 метров в размахе.

Есть еще великое множество интереснейших мест расположенных в окрестностях поселка. Мало того, у местных жителей припасено огромное количество легенд, сказаний и народных поверий, касаемых самого городка и близлежащих достопримечательностей. Их так много, что кажется, даже самый маленький камушек на дороге имеет свою поучительную историю.

Замечательные, удобные для жилья и отдыха места, прекрасная природа, мягкий климат предгорий, обилие рек, близость Чарвакского водохранилища, чистейший горный воздух и целительный мед - чем не рай земной? Если хотите убедиться, приезжайте!

.