Kunya Ark (17th-19th c.)

The old fortress is adjoins the western side of Ichan-Kala city walls with hermit Ak-shikh-bobo cell in one of its sections. Ichan-Kala barrow got its name in the 30’s of the 19th century after the construction of the “new palace” Tash Khauli. Construction of Kunya Ark was initiated in 1686-1688 by Anushakhan’s son Aranghkhan. By the end of the 18th century Kunya Ark became “a town within a town” and was separated from Ichan-Kala with a high wall. It housed a fortress, khan’s residence, supreme court, powder factory, arsenal, mint, kurinyshkhana (khan’s reception office), winter and summer mosques, divan registry, harem, kitchens, stables, guardroom, arena for ram fights, etc. The gate is 13 by 8.5 meters and 5.8 meters high (the remaining part).

.