Tashkent Streets and Squares

Bunyodkor (creator) prospect 

Situated between the Bunyodkor square and the Main Uzbek Tract, southwest of Tashkent’s center it is approximately 18 kilometers in length. Until 2008 the street named in honor of the Soviet nations that helped to rebuild Tashkent after the 1966 earthquake. This prospect was built in two stages: the first stage from Muqimi street up to the main Uzbek tract was built before 1966 and the section from Muqimi to the Bunyodkor square was completed after 1968. In XIX century the forerunner to the Bunyodkor prospect was in the Beshyoghoch daha area and was considered to be one of the main entrance roads to Tashkent. Now it connects Chilonzor – “The Tashkent Brooklin” with the central part of the city. A part of the Metro passes through this prospect. The major part of this prospect is built in residential areas. Towards the center the prospect becomes more beautiful and takes an official flavour through the Gaful Ghulom Cultural and Rest Garden and the newly built Azerbaijani embassy and the Uzbek Parliament are additional solidity to this street. 

Navoiy Avenue 

Named in 1893 as Toshkucha (stone street –Uzb.) Shaykhontohur until 1960, after became Navoiy street, situated between Amir Temur and Beruniy streets, has 3 kilometers of length. Crossed by Anhor river. One of the ancient streets of Tashkent. On the second half of XIX cc. and in XX cc. it connected Old city with new town, crossed Shaykhontohur daha. The residents of this street were mostly craftsmen. It boasts the temple of Shaykhontohur (XV cc), Yunuskhan temple (XVI cc) and Eshonqulidodkhoh madrasah (XIX cc, now not preserved). The first Russian-local school was opened in Navoiy street. In XX cc it was the most crowded street of the city. From 1903 the horse drawn tram and from 1913 electric tram were to be found in this street. Most reconstruction in this street was carried out in 60-70s of the XX cc. It was widened and the new transport network and multistoried buildings were built. In the 30s the building of the Agricultural Ministry and the Central telegraph was completed. In the 40s of XX cc the Trade and Cultural Palace and in 1948 in the square in front of the palace the monument to Alisher Navoiy and the poets alley were created. In 1991on the eve of Alisher Navoiy’s 550 years anniversary, the palace was turned into the Literary museum. The following administrative and cultural offices are situated in this street: Publishing Houses, Health and Cultural Ministry, the Institute of Manuscripts, Architectural Institute, Alisher Navoiy Art Palace, Kukaldosh madrasah, Central Department Store, bookshops and etc.

Amir Temur Boulevard 

Before the Independence this square had been known as Revolution Square. After the Russian occupation of Tashkent it became the Central Square of Konstantin (named after Turkestan’s first General Governor Konstantin Kaufman). This gave the city European image. The subsequently installed monuments on the square recognized the important changes in the former vast Soviet empire: Stalin in 1935, Karl Marx in 1958.From 1994 after the erection of the mounted Amir Temur monument, the square has been called Amir Temur Square. Temur’s name is historically connected to Tashkent, as they say Tashkent was one of his favourite towns.He had been in Tashkent in the years 1361, 1363-64, 1365, 1390 and 1405. Temur paid much attention to Tashkent as this town was located on the borders of the fertile agricultural valleys to the north. In 1390 Temur prepared for the Qipchaq desert expedition and wintered in in Tashkent. During his stay he was ill for some time and later recovered.After the war, which was fatal for Tukhtamish,who was the king of Qipchaq deserts, TEmur returned to Tashkent with substantial trophies in 1391. Here in Tashkent, Temur ordered Mironshoh to go to Khorasan to govern there and in 1392 Temur left Tashkent for Samarkand. In 1404-05 when Temur started his campaign into China, a part of his army had been staying in Tashkent. While staying in Tashkent Temur visited the most “holy shrines” of Tashkent such as Zangiota temple,the temple of Sheykh Zainiddin bobo and Qaffol-Shoshiy.

 

Mustaqillik maydoni – the Independence Square 

Until 1917 the most important square of the country had been called Sobornaya (Cathedral) because the General Governor of Turkestan, Kaufman, had created an Orthodox church and bell tower near the first line of fountains. From 1917-66 it was known as Red Square and from 1966-91, like in many other Soviet capital cities, it took on Lenin’s name. It is the Central square of Tashkent, where most city parades and public ceremonies are held. It is situated between Uzbekistan and Navoiy prospects, on the bank of Anhor river and has been reconstructed several times. Two monuments to Lenin were erected here, the first in 1936 and the second in1975. The second statue was the tallest in Central Asia (30 meters). In 1992 they were replaced by the giant globe with the prominent Uzbekistan map. Since 1992 this place has been called Independence Square, surrounded with newly built Senate House in the west, the cabinet of Ministers of Uzbekistan building in the south, Museum of History of Uzbekistan and memorial garden to the Unknown Soldier in the north. In former soviet times and even now this square considered to be the largest square in CIS in terms of its majesty and scale.

Bunyodkor (the Creator) Square 

This square is situated between Furqat, Bunyodkor (former People’s Friendship) Street and Uzbekistan Avenue in the south west of the city center and until 2008 was named as “People’s Friendship” in honor of participants of Tashkent’s reconstruction after 1966 earthquake. The Square replaced the 70 year old Guliston mahalla of the city. The Grand cinema-concert palace was also named until 2008 People’s Friendship, opened in in 1981 and became the basis of the unique architectural creations of the square. Behind the palace one can see the architectural harmony of three periods: Abulkassim madrasah from XIX cc of Kokand khanate; the palace itself built in soviet times according to its monumental traditions; The “Navruz” (New Day) restaurant and the Celebration stadium built during independence. To the north, the square neighbors with the National garden of Uzbekistan and with Alisher Navoiy’s beautiful statue built in 2001 on the occasion of his 660 years anniversary.

Navoiy Square 

The square in front of the Navoiy Opera and Ballet Theatre was called Voskresenskiy bazaar until 1930 and up to 1991, Theatrical square. In 1947 the construction of the Theatre was completed and a beautiful fountain was created by the group of architects and the attractive square appeared here. Now this square is surrounded by “Tashkent” Central Department Store on the south, on the west with “Tashkent Palace” hotel, and with “Sharq” Publishing house’s bookshops on the east. It is a great pleasure for people to relax around the fountains here on hot sunny days.

 

.